South West Anaesthesia Research Matrix


Sprint National Audit Project 1


SWARM was proud to participate in the first Sprint National Anaesthesia Project (SNAP 1) which completed data collection on 14th May 2014.


SNAP 1 was being managed by the National Institute of Academic Anaesthesia - Health Services Research Centre (NIAA-HSRC), in conjunction with the UCL/UCLH Surgical Outcomes Research Centre (SOuRCe). It was funded by an NIAA administered grant provided by the Royal College of Anaesthetists (RCoA).


It aimed to provide a 'snapshot' of clinical activity in hospitals throughout the UK over a 2 day period on 13th & 14th May 2014. It specifically looked at patient reported outcomes after anaesthesia; specifically patient satisfaction and patient reported awareness.

Outcome measures
  • A validated Patient Satisfaction Questionnaire & the Modified Brice Questionnaire

  • To establish a national benchmark for patient satisfaction after anaesthesia
  • To establish an estimate of the incidence of accidental awareness during general anaesthesia in the UK population

Inclusion criteria
  • All adult (≥18 years) patients undergoing any type of non-obstetric surgery in an operating theatre, in an NHS hospital in the UK during the study period
  • Includes both day case and in-patient surgery as well as planned elective cases in addition to urgent or emergency operations
  • Endoscopic or interventional radiological procedures carried out under GA or sedation given by an anaesthetist are also be included

Exclusion criteria
  • Patients <18 years old
  • Those who are unable to understand spoken or written English
  • Obstetric patients
  • Patients who are too unwell or confused to be able to complete the questionnaires or those who decline to participate
  • Non-surgical interventions such as 'pain procedures', ECT or anaesthetic room procedures (e.g. CVC insertion, LP)

For more information about this exciting project, visit the NIAA website.








Local Trust Project Leads

Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
Dr Geoff Tavener
Dr Louise Schonborn
Dr Gary Minto
Catherine Harden, Clinical Research Nurse
Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
Dr Tom Lawson
Dr Juan Graterol
Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Exeter
Dr Thomas Clark
Dr Samantha Lyons
Dr Kath Meikle
Torbay Hospital, Torquay
Dr Claire Ward
Dr Jane Montgomery
Musgrove Park Hospital, Taunton
Dr Timothy Wilson
Dr Stuart Collins
North Devon District Hospital, Barnstaple
Garry Henry

Local Trust Project Investigator

Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
Dr Danielle Franklin
Dr Craig Holdstock
Dr Sandeep Kusre
Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
Dr Anna Ratcliffe
Dr Geoffrey Wigmore
Torbay Hospital, Torquay
Dr Martin Dore
Dr Chris Leighton
Dr Lydia Jones
Kerenza Boulton, Clinical Research Nurse
Musgrove Park Hospital, Taunton
Dr Thomas Evans
Dr Rebecca Pugsley
Dr James Garwood
North Devon District Hospital, Barnstaple
Dr David Robertshaw
Dr Nigel Hollister
Dr Maria Karatzi
Dr Eleanore Quinn
Dr Jane Hunt
Dr Rachel Horn
Dr Lucia Stancombe

Local Trust Project Contributors

Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
Dr Rosie Grover
Dr Juleen Fasham
Dr Rohan Babla
Clinical Research Team:
Sally Harwood
Suzanne Price
Clare Northcott
Ellie Shepherd
Karen Brookes
Elizabeth Whitby
Leeanne Carwithen
Abigail Patrick
Molly Bancroft
Jackie Wooding
Matthew Hawkins
Rosalyn Squires
Val Morgan
Helen Smith
Charlotte Bailey
Julie Greatrex
Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
Dr Patricia Jonetzko
Dr Andrew MacAlister-Hall
Dr Kathleen Mulcahy
Dr William Rutherford
Clinical Research Team:
Anna Fouracres
Alyson Andrew
Jacqueline Dingle
Nicki Devooght-Johnson
Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Exeter
Dr Lawrence Kidd
Dr David Hutchins
Dr Richard Wassall
Dr Emily Howells
Dr Elizabeth Fontaine
Dr Tom Woodward
Clinical Research Team:
Suzanne Marriott
Musgrove Park Hospital, Taunton
Dr Suzanne Grenfell
Dr Olivia Gokhale
Dr Borys Topor
Dr Harriet Gardiner
Dr Lindsey Arrick
Dr Nicholas Souter
North Devon District Hospital, Barnstaple
Click to edit text
Clinical Research Team:
Rachel Horn
Jane Hunt
Lucia Stancombe