South West Anaesthesia Research Matrix


Survey of Post-operative Regional Anaesthetic Techniques for major abdominal Surgery (SPRATS)


To quantify the use of perioperative regional anaesthetic techniques used for the management of abdominal and pelvic post surgical pain.


A 1 day pilot to optimise the data collection protocol was completed in February 2013.

A 2 week period of data collection was completed in April 2013 across all six Trusts in the southwest region.


Inclusion criteria:

  • All patients undergoing either emergency or elective pelvic and abdominal surgery


Exclusion criteria:

  • Laparoscopic surgery (with the exception of laparoscopic-assisted surgery)
  • Inguinal hernia surgery



191 patients were recruited across 6 centres from a potential total 227 patients. This equates to a mean recruitment rate of 84%.

Recruitment rate by hospital site
ASA class of the patients enrolled
Distribution of local anaesthetic techniques employed




Survey of Post-Operative Regional Anaesthetic Techniques for major abdominal Surgery (SPRATS), Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine 2013; 38(5): E1-E259.

Written by Dr Timothy Wilson and edited by Dr Mark Rockett on behalf of SWARM.



Survey of Post-Operative Regional Anaesthetic Techniques for major abdominal Surgery (SPRATS)

Presented by Dr Timothy Wilson at the ESRA Congress, September 2013.

Presented by Dr William Rutherford at the Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust Research Conference, September 2013.

Kindly sponsored by the charity Bowel Cancer West.


Regional Project Leads

Dr Timothy Wilson

Dr Mark Rockett


Local Trust Project Leads

Dr William Rutherford

Dr James Blackburn

Dr Junayed Ahmed

Dr Jennifer Potts

Dr Ashleigh Williams

Dr Daniel Mc'Laughlin


Local Trust Project Contributors

Derriford Hospital, Plymouth
Dr Emily Howells
 Dr Lisa Manser
 Dr Helen King
 Sister Helen Mc'Millan
Royal Cornwall Hospital, Truro
Dr Megan Thomas
Dr Kelly Mackey
Dr Peter Bolton
Dr Susan Edie
Dr Nicholas Boyd
Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Exeter
Dr Ashleigh Williams
Dr Louise Cossey
Dr Sandeep Kusre
Dr Sam Lyons
Dr Thomas Clark
Dr Jo Edwards
Dr Graham Simpson
Dr Andrew Woodgate
Dr Francis Smith
Dr David Hutchins
Dr Scott Bradburn
Dr Ben Ballisat
Dr Rebecca Pugsley
Dr James Simpson
Dr Ross Vanstone
Dr Julie Lewis
Dr John Blackman
Dr Tom Woodward
Dr Alexandra Hughes
Torbay Hospital, Torquay
Dr Susan Cummins
Dr David Portch
Dr Dominic Smith
Dr Melanie Shuker
Dr Peter Thomas
Dr Richard Harrison
Dr Andrew Biffen
North Devon District Hospital, Barnstaple
Dr Matthew Casemore
Dr Johannes Retief
Dr Sarah Morris
Dr Catherine Dore
Dr Matthew Browning
Dr Karen Holdom
Dr Layth Tameem
Dr Helen Fothergill